Skip to main content

Events

Find out about events, conferences, workshops and courses in which we and our partners participate.

For other events see the WASH Events Calendar.

In The Netherlands we organise WASH Debates on wicked topics facing the sector.

Sign up for WASH Debates announcements & updates

Register now for the Post-COP activists connect event

20th Jan 2022

Take the stage, click for your invite

Post-COP activists connect: young climate and water voices move beyond the blah

Are you a passionate activist? An expert in climate and water? A person who is impatient for change? Then join us.

On Thursday 20 January 2022, young activists in climate and water connect and look back at COP26. Has it been more “blah, blah, blah”, or has genuine progress been made?  

These are very consequential times, when social and environmental issues demand urgent action. The biggest problems facing our world, including achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, can only be solved if we recognise how interconnected they are.  

Climate, and water and sanitation. When it comes to equality, you can't have one without the others. How can those campaigning for climate justice and the human right to safe water join hands to move beyond the blah? 

Panellists include:

  • Valery Molay: Climate activist at heart | Passionate about justice and young people's role in advocacy | Former UN Youth Delegate for Ireland | Climate Justice officer for the National Youth Council of Ireland
  • Shomy Hasan Chowdhury: Multi-award-winning water, sanitation and hygiene activist from Bangladesh | Co-founder of youth-led NGO Awareness 360 | Forbes 30 under 30 featured honoree for Social Impact
  • Gabriel Klaasen: Intersectional activist from Cape Town | Youth coordinator for the African Climate Alliance | Communications officer for Project 90 by 2030.
  • Patience Agyekum: Lead policy team at the Strategic Youth Network for Development | Ensuring voices of young people are instilled in Ghana's Climate Change Policies
  • Srilekha Chakraborty: Gender rights activist | storyteller | focus on water, sanitation and hygiene and sexual reproductive health and rights of marginalised tribal women and girls in India
  • Desmond Alugnoa: Co-founder of Green Africa Youth Organization | coordinator for Africa Member Support Program under the Global Alliance for Incinerator Alternatives, youth advisor to the Global Center on AdaptationClimate Programme. Desmond is replacing Joshua Amponsem

With special guest appearances by:

  • Henk Ovink: Dutch Special Envoy for International Water Affairs | Sherpa to UN High Level Panel on water | Co-author of Rebuild by Design: A Transformative Approach to Climate Change
  • Bonita Murungi: Ugandan award-winning author and climate change activist 

It's time for positive action and change. Unite with us in this online event, hosted by Hajar Yagkoubi, former Netherlands youth representative to the United Nations. 

Take the stage, click for your invite

Make sure to continue to check this page for the latest updates.


09:00 – 10:45 EST New York | 11:00 – 12:45 ART Buenos Aires | 14:00 – 15:45 GMT Accra, Dublin | 15:00 – 16:45 hrs CET Amsterdam | 16:00 – 17:45 Cape Town 17:00 – 18:45 EAT Kampala | 19:30 – 21:15 IST Delhi | 20:00 – 21:45 BST Dhaka